How to delete a repository in GitHub

This guide walks you through the steps to deleting a GiHub Repository which is not as straight forward as Creating a GitHub Repository.

Deleting a repository in GitHub
Deleting a repository in GitHub

Creating repositories in GitHub is pretty Straight forward unlike deleting which is not as straightforward especially for first timers. You might spend a lot of time trying to find the delete option in vain.

Whether you are just cleaning up your account or you no longer need a repository, you will find yourself in situations where you need to delete repositories.

Whichever the case, this guide will walk you through the steps to delete a GitHub repository.

Let's get to it.

Prerequisites

  • Have your own GitHub account.
  • Unwanted repository.

Step 1: Log in to your Github account.

Step 2: Access Your Repo

Once you are logged in to your GitHub account, find the repository you want to delete. You can do this by heading to your repositories which can be accessed by clicking on your profile icon in the top right corner of the page and selecting Your repositories.

Img 1.png

This will open up the repositories tab with all the repositories you've created so far.

Step 3: Go to Repository Settings

Locate the repository you want to delete and click on it to get into the repository.

Inside the repository, locate and click on the settings tab. You can find this tab on the navigation bar.

Img 2.png

Step 4: Scroll Down to the Danger Zone

On the settings tab, scroll to the bottom until you see the Danger Zone section. This section contains actions related to deleting and other irreversible options.

As the section name suggests, this is a danger zone so be cautious before proceeding with any action.

Img 3.png

Step 5: Deleting a Repository

Within the "Danger Zone," look for the option labeled Delete this repository and click on it. This will be followed by a series of pop-ups requiring you to confirm the deletion. Read them carefully and proceed when sure.

Img 4.png

Img 5.png

GitHub will require you to confirm your decision by entering the repository name. This is a safety measure to prevent accidental deletions.

Img 6.png

Step 6: Verify Deletion

After clicking Delete this repository, GitHub will prompt you to enter your GitHub password to confirm the action. After entering your password, the repository will get deleted from your account.

You can confirm the deletion by heading to your repositories one more time and scrolling through, if you can't find the repository you just deleted, good job, you have successfully deleted a repository.

Summing up

By following this tutorial, you will successfully delete a GitHub repository. Keep in mind that this action is irreversible, and all data associated with the repository will be permanently removed. If you have any concerns about losing data, consider creating a backup or exporting important information before proceeding with the deletion.

Always exercise caution when deleting repositories, and make sure you have the necessary permissions to perform such actions. Additionally, communicate with collaborators and stakeholders to inform them of the repository deletion if it impacts ongoing projects.

If you found the article helpful, consider subscribing and sharing the article with interesting parties.

Thanks for reading : )

Table of Contents
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to GeekBits.
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
You've successfully subscribed to GeekBits.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.
Success! Your billing info has been updated.
Your billing was not updated.